Create your dream company in the global economy game!

Play Business Game!
Русский Українська Español Deutsch
Login Password Sign Up / Login Forgot your password? English
Search
virtonomica

List of forums -> Questions and answers. Help. -> Economic of scales in production

Here you can learn from the interaction between experienced businessmen and young entrepreneurs. You are welcome to place your questions related to our business simulation game and get the answers from experienced players

Topic:

Topic created : 19.04.2017, 05:15

talos1279

I'm just a newbie here and I wanted to start in production section.

I uses the uncle package in the beginning and the factory did quite well at the beginning. However, as I tried to scale down my business to only sell products that my factory produces, things stroke me hard.

The factory produced both dress and shirts. They do not have high quality as the store competitor so I tried for a low quality, low price strategy in the store. However, the sales volume did not get to make a balance (300 produced but only 60 sold, I guess that it's due to the store being in residential area and my reputation for store is not much). I tried to balance out by reducing the amount of workers in factory (cost a lot of money to send them off) as their salary comprised of 70% of prime cost. In the next week, the amount of product was same as amount sold in store but their prime cost rose so much (from 20.5$ to 100$) that the expenses was the same before firing people off.

I figured out that this was due to economic of scales here. I want to ask you guys which production section that is not seriously impacted by the economic of scale (prime cost does not increase so drastically when you have few worker). My guess is agriculture but I am not so sure since I do not know anything about business.